Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: On a budget  (Read 5344 times)

SimonB

On a budget
« on: Nov 22, 2012, 00:38 »
Hi guys and girls,

I have scouted the forum but I can't find an exact answer to the question buzzing in my head...what tips do people have to get fit/stronger WITHOUT spending loads of money on equipment, shakes or gym memberships?

Here's my situation...

I am a 20 year old apprentice working at Rolls Royce in Derby / Hucknall but I live in Grantham so it's about 80 mile round trip at the moment so a lot of my earnings are on car insurance, diesel e.t.c plus board, food and other bills. What little money is left is being saved for a house deposit in the future so there is little money left, to the point where I can't even fix my brakes on my bike >:( that means I can't use that to get fit! I have a weight lifting bench and dumbells but I don't know what exercises to do on them.

So is there any advice you could give? I just want to get healthier because I do a lot of sitting / standing at work and commuting.

Thanks

Simon

So

Fastlane

• MTB Company
  • Senior
  • EX-Official SDH Papperazzi
    • www.mudfockers.co.uk
Re: On a budget
« Reply #1 on: Nov 22, 2012, 01:08 »

elmo20

« Reply #2 on: Nov 22, 2012, 11:15 »
In terms of fitness having a road bike has always helped me, you can ride in a silly high gear to build strength or just do long rides for stamina - maybe when the weather improves a bit once a week do the commute? They're a relatively cheap alternative to the gym and you can get a decent second hand roadie for £100 if you have that.

SimonB

« Reply #3 on: Nov 22, 2012, 11:37 »
Loads here buddy.
http://ride.io/forum/index.php/topic,147547.0.html

cheers mate ill look it up